Day 6: Dry ice; Pig tails and Hermit’s Rest; Vista after vista; you want to hike what?; Sunset; The Unbearable coldness of sleeping

We woke up feeling like dry ice, lips chapped and freezing.  After putting on every semi-warm item of clothing with us, we awkwardly suavely moved our tent from site 117 to 177.

We headed toward the rim. Was I excited to see this monument I had driven 1800+ miles to see? Yes, but, I was also incredible cold.

Could a vast abyss warm my soul?

WHATWHATWHATWHATWHAT.

In the words of Tina Fey parodying Sarah Palin, “you betacha.”

We spent the day viewing vista after vista on the Hermit’s Rest bus route. And gazing down at the hike I wanted to go on the next day: Bright Angel Trail, a switch-backing elevation changing beast.

Unprepared professional athletes have died overdoing it on this trail so we weren’t convinced if it was a good idea. But on the bus ride back from the sunset that night a couple in their 60s told us they had hiked it in their 20s and it was unforgettable. They told us not to miss it.

I usually don’t trust strangers, but, I really love hiking. I hoped me+them would convince Alejandro to go.

All that was left was the unbearable coldness of sleeping.

Hoods up, sleeping bags zipped and over our heads. We had no trouble waking up at 5 a.m. the next day to get ready for our hike because it is quite possible that our brains were just frozen and we never went to sleep.

Introducing Satellite View.

(Just in case you were beginning to get confused this is a very extended recap of the road trip Alejandro and I went on to get back to Oregon from Savannah, Ga. I made a few posts during the drive, but most of the time I was too busy/exhausted/without internet. We took 12 days to drive across the country starting June 3.)

1 comment
  1. Ellen said:

    Despite the bitter cold you encountered, your gorgeous rendering of this most beautiful place warms my heart. Thanks again…xoxo

Leave a Reply

