Day 1: the day of reckoning; packing/moving day; why do I own so much shit?; hottest day of the year; 100 degrees in the freezer645 miles

Since I promised more information about my trip I am going to give it to you, forgive me if you’ve already been a captive audience for this.

Day 1, the day of reckoning; packing/moving day; why do I own so much shit?; hottest day of the year; 100 degrees in the freezer:

The day after finals are over SCAD does this really nice thing where in return for a week of sleepless nights they give you until 5:00 to move out of the dorms.  This year it was very hot. This year, I had to move everything I owned across the country.

Alejandro and I planned to leave Savannah that Friday at 9:00 in the morning at the latest. Due to some “the car is smaller than I thought,” issues we weren’t on the road until 1:30 p.m. We did not eat breakfast. We did not eat anything until we were in the very NW tip of Georgia.

At first we tried to go to Wendy’s but it was not open. Maybe a robbery had just happened, we have no idea. So we tried to go to Taco Bell, but I couldn’t find the parking lot. Our first hike was down a hill, past a real mexican restaurant and into the front doors of Taco Bell where I proceeded to drink two large cups of Dr. Pepper (probably more soda than I have consumed in my entire life).

After that, the only thing really that eventful was discovering that Alabama and Mississippi were much prettier than I thought they would be.

Visual stimuli brought to you by GOOGLE MAPS.

By the time we reached the Memphis KOA camping site (actually located across the border in Arkansas) it was well after midnight, but still a good 90 degrees outside. As we set up the tent next to the highway and lay down drenched in sweat and bug bites, I realized why people in the south don’t go camping very often: humidity + sleeping bags = awful.

I woke up the next morning so I must have fallen asleep, but that first day was hell. “Did I just convince Alejandro to embark on a torture cruise across the country, planned and designed by yours truly?” I thought to myself.

When we left that morning I thought that at least things couldn’t get any worse …

Deal with it.

Leave a Reply

