The friend crush

Once upon a time I was really good at making friends with the opposite gender. I was, for better or worse, one of the guys.  But something happened in between high school and college that changed all that: Eva.

Let me explain.

In high school all the guys that I wanted to befriend were smitten with my best friend Eva.  So, in lieu of talking to her (she didn’t have time to dilly dally on them anyway) they would approach me in hopes of getting closer to her.

 

A simple diagram.

 

And although that is a generalization, without Eva or another single hot sidekick to supply me with an ample flow of guys in college I was left to fend for myself.

Since I am happily taken my usual tactic of mildly flirting with people to spark up a conversation doesn’t really work anymore. I don’t want to be a tease I just want to tell you I think you’re cool.

Every quarter I get friend crushes, male and female, but don’t know how to take them to the next level. It’s like I’m asking people out on dates but insulting them at the same time by adding the qualifier of “just as friends” at the end.

But I don’t like the beat around the bush (Please picture me dancing in circles beating the ground around an actual shrub for dramatic effect).

For those with no imagination.

I am just going to lay all my cards out on the table here: I like you. I don’t like you like, but I think we should be friends.  We’ll never be more than friends but who knows, we could be really good friends.

So there you have it.  I’ve got a friend crush on you.  Be my bro?

1 comment

Leave a Reply

