Avocado + love = guacamole

That’s it.  I’ve decided.  Avocados are my favorite fruit.

Not only are they decidedly not bananas but they have more potassium than a banana (1166 mg in the average raw avocado compared to 806 mg in a banana) and they are the key ingredient in one of the best things on earth: guacamole.

Guacamole is like the pumpkin pie of the spring and summer months.  It has a distinct taste, has a gorgeous color and I could eat it all day long.

The best part about guacamole is that everyone makes it a little differently, so there is always a new avocado infused adventure in every bite.

Personally, I like to add a pinch of salt and a squeeze of lime.  But, I also find it mighty hard to share at all when I make it so I doubt you will ever taste my recipe.

I love avocado but I hate bananas.

Awful flavor aside, they are selfish fruits that overpower every other flavor they are next to.  Strawberry banana smoothie? Try banana smoothie with a slightly pink coloring. Fruit salad containing banana? More like a bowl of bananas coming in all different shapes, sizes and colors.  And don’t even get me started on the texture and smell.

So how happy am I to get my potassium elsewhere?

Almost as happy as if I was given the power to create chocolate out of thin air.

Leave a Reply

