Dear makers of Call of Duty 4

Please accept my great praise for the realistic world you’ve created for the first person shooter (FPS) genre.  The first time I encountered your masterpiece was when from across the house I heard a war going on in the living room.  After wielding a heated hair straightener and investigating I found that, luckily for me, it was only a game.

I think you have promising visual talents, but the wrong idea about who your target consumer should be.  Sure, you’ve got males 12-85 locked and loaded but isn’t that so easy, predictable and passé?

Shouldn’t a forward thinking game designer be targeting those who aren’t already pre-destined to game the minute they realized they didn’t have to move to have fun?

I think a person of  your caliber should target those who look at the first person shooter and say “what a waste of time.” And I know precisely how to hook them:

A game that simulates underwater exploration.

There will be no challenges or enemies to fight just earth’s entire ocean perfectly digitally recreated full of every known sea creature and sunken vessel. When you click on anything– from plankton to giant squid– scientific stats pop up.  Once you find a being it gets added to your pokedex like database and your knowledge grows as you explore.

I know there are a lot of “educational” games like this but they are lacking the great “Planet Earth” detail you could provide with your superior skills.

I’m just saying, I don’t think FPS need to get any more real until I can explore the entire ocean from the comfort of my living room.

Respectfully yours,

Anna (G-funk)opoulos

 

Newfoundland deep sea species of octopus aka SESAPUS IN REAL LIFE (+a couple tentacles).

P.S. If this game already exists PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHERE I CAN BUY IT.

 

5 comments
    • I totally have a wii. WILL THE GRAPHICS make me feel like I am actually there or should I wait for a better version? DECISIONS.

      • Ben Fischl said:

        There’s a sequel to endless ocean as well. Although on the Wii, immersion is never really possible. I’ve read it’s very fun and relaxing though’

  1. Lisa said:

    This blog post had to have been influenced (conciously or subconciously) by that Operation Neptune game we played for hours on end as children. YES?!

    • You know it. If only I could do simple math equations faster!

Leave a Reply

