The Harper Fowlkes House in Savannah, Ga

The final project in our Drawling II class was to use watercolors to paint a house ‘en plein air,’ or from observation without using a photo. The hardest part about this assignment was deciding which of the beautiful houses in Savannah to paint.

I’ll admit since I was living in the dorms without a car my choice was largely based off of how far  I wanted to walk with a large drawing board to get to my location. This house, The Harper Fowlkes house, is at 230 Barnard St. facing New Orleans Square. It was built in 1842 and serves as the headquarters for the society of Cincinnati in Georgia (whatever that means).

I really enjoy painting from life but painting in public in a city full of tourists invites a lot of unwanted attention. I can’t tell you how many people stopped to talk to me about this drawing and praised it even when there were about three marks on the page.

I haven’t toured the building yet but it’s on the top of my list of things to do the next time I go to Savannah.

Leave a Reply

